Indian Contingent for Tokyo Paralympics 2020 receives grand send-off at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi - India Tourism Development Corporation - The Ashok Group of Hotels
Press Release

12 August 2021

Indian Contingent for Tokyo Paralympics 2020 receives grand send-off at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi

National, August 12, 2021: The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi, flagship property under India Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. (ITDC), a public sector undertaking under the aegis of the Ministry of Tourism, hosted a grand send-off ceremony for the Paralympics contingent for Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

The occasion was graced by Shri G. Kishan Reddy, Hon'ble Minister of Tourism, Culture and Development of North Eastern Region of India, Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi, Hon’ble Minister of State for External Affairs and Culture of India, Dr. Deepa Malik, President Paralympic Committee of India, Shri GKV Rao, Chairman and Managing Director, ITDC, and other key dignitaries. Shri. Anurag Thakur, Hon'ble Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports also virtually addressed the gathering and expressed his best wishes to the Paralympics contingent.

Shri. G. Kishan Reddy, Hon'ble Minister of Tourism, while addressing the gathering said - We have assembled here at a historic venue, The Ashok Hotel, to yet again, witness history being made and convey our wishes to the biggest ever Paralympics contingent, who would be competing at Tokyo Paralympics 2020 from August 24th this month. India’s pride from the 2016 Rio Paralympics, Shri Mariyappan Thangavelu, and Shri Devendra Jhajharia are a part of the 2021 contingent. As you leave for Tokyo, at every moment, with every breath, I hope you feel that over 130 Cr people back at home have you in their prayers and wishes.

Badminton shall be making its debut at Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, which will feature as many as five shuttlers in men’s category – Pramod Bhagat, Manoj Sarkar, Tarun Dhillon, Suhas Yathiraj and Krishna Nagar along with the women’s doubles pairing of Parul Parmar, Palak Kohli.

The Tokyo Paralympic will be held from August 24th to September 05th, 2021. High jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu, Gold medallist of Rio Paralympics 2016, will be the flag bearer for the Indian contingent in the opening ceremony. A record number of 54 Para athletes will participate across 9 different sports in Tokyo Olympics. Many of the athletes have qualified with world record performance, which raises the medal expectations. Last year at Rio, India had won a total of four medals out of which two were Gold.